Get Daily Updates
My HanCinema | Sign up, Why ? Your E-mail   Password    Auto| Help
HanCinema :: The Korean Movie and Drama Database, discover the South Korean cinema and drama diversity Contact HanCinema HanCinema on TwitterFaceBook HanCinema PageHanCinema on Twitter

Korean Moviestars Nominated for Asian Excellence Awards

2006/01/16 Source

The innovative new American cable channel AZN Television, dedicated to serving the burgeoning Asian American community, announced on January 11 2006, its nominees for the 2006 Asian Excellence Awards. A large number of Korean actors appeared on the nominee list, showing once again the power of the Korean wave.

The Asian Excellence Awards, featuring the Remy Martin X.O Honors, is intended to highlight the outstanding achievements of Asian Americans in the fields of entertainment, sports, film, music fashion and science.

The Remy Martin X.O Honors are non-competitive categories and awards will be bestowed for Lifetime Achievement, Inspiration and Bridge. Competitive categories in the Asian Excellence Awards include Outstanding TV Performance, Outstanding Film Performance, Outstanding Feature Filmmaker, Outstanding Live Performance, Outstanding Athlete, Outstanding Style-setter and Outstanding Newcomer.

The nominees for the Outstanding TV Performance category include Kim Yunjin and Daniel Dae Kim from "Lost", and Sandra Oh from "Grey's Anatomy". The band "Linkin Park", in which Joseph Hahnis playing an active role, was among the nominees for Outstanding Live Performance.

Grace Park of "Battlestar Galactica's" and Rex Lee from the HBO show Entourage rounded out the four finalists for the Outstanding Newcomer Award.

"The Outstanding Newcomer Award will give national exposure and recognition to rising Asian American talent whose influence is impacting Hollywood and the entertainment industry", said Peilin Chou, AZN Television's Senior Vice President for Programming and Production.

The Asian Excellence Awards has gained tremendous recognition throughout the Asian American community and now will make its television debut in partnership with AZN television.

The show will be taped on January 19, 2006 at the legendary Wiltern LG Theater in Los Angeles, and e aired on the Lunar New Year, January 29 2006, at 8 pm ET/ 5pm PT.

The Awards show will be hosted by actress Kelly Hu and actor/comedian Bobby Lee. Past honorees, hosts and presenters include Kelly Hu, B.D. Wong, Jason Scott Lee, Tia Carrere, Bai Ling, Lou Diamond Philips, Pat Morita, David Henry Hwang, Shekhar Kapur, Tan Dun, Mira Nair, John Cho, Lisa Ling, Tony Danza, Wu Tang Clan and Ralph Macchio.

The honoree in each category will be chosen through on-line voting at Open the link .

By Rachel Nam


Attention You're reading the news with potential spoilers, make them spoiler free, dismiss



 Previous news
  • Art Cinema to bring favorite films of famous directors, actors
    2006/01/16 (Source)
    What are the all-time favorite art movies of Park Chan-wook, director of "Old Boy" or of Moon So-ri, actress of "A Good Lawyer's Wife?" An art house theater in Seoul may give you a clue.

    From Jan. 18 to Jan. 26, Seoul Art Cinema in Jongno, downtown Seoul, will hold a film festival "Friends of Cin,...

  • Director Heo Jin-ho Invited as Juror to Yubari Film Festival in Japan
    2006/01/16 (Source)
    Film director Heo Jin-ho has been invited to the 17th Yubari International Fantastic Film Festival as a juror in the competition division. The festival will be held in Hokkaido, Japan from Feb. 23 through 27.

    Film critic Chung Ji-wook has also been invited as a juror in the off-theater competitio,...

  • TV drama starring Choi Ji-woo records 20.6% viewership in Japan
    2006/01/16 (Source)
    The pilot episode of the Korean-Japanese TV drama "Rondo", starring top hallyu actress Choi Ji-woo, recorded viewer ratings of 20.6 percent when it aired in Japan Jan. 15 on Tokyo Broadcasting System (TBS), reported Choi's agency, Yedang Entertainment, on Jan. 16.

    TBS officially announced the fig,...