Get Daily Updates
My HanCinema | Sign up, Why ? Your E-mail   Password    Auto| Help
HanCinema :: The Korean Movie and Drama Database, discover the South Korean cinema and drama diversity Contact HanCinema HanCinema on TwitterFaceBook HanCinema PageHanCinema on Twitter

PiFan Launches 2 New Awards

2009/07/09 Source

The 13th Puchon International Fantastic Film Festival, taking place July 16 26, has announced the launch of 2 new awards this year, the NETPAC and the Fujifilm Eterna award. Both awards will be presided over by juries, with the former going to an Asian film and the latter to a Korean film.

The NETPAC award will be given out to the best Asian film in the 'Off the Fantastic' section which introduces new offbeat genre films from throughout Asia. PiFan has created the Fujifilm Eterna Award for the purpose of promoting Korean independent feature films. As a prize, 8000ft of Fujifilm Eterna will be awarded to the best Korean independent feature film.

Award-winners will be announced July 23 at the Closing Night Ceremony, although screenings will continue until the 26th. Heading this year's Puchon Choice Jury which presents awards in five categories is Tony Rayns, a British specialist in Asian cinema, festival programmer and contributor to Sight and Sounds magazine.

Acclaimed Korean actress Chu Sang-mi ("On the Occasion of Remembering the Turning Gate") and director Yoon Jong-chan "(I am Happy") will also sit on the jury, along with Japanese producer Yasuhiro MASE (Memories of Matsuko) and American producer at Universal, Jason RESNICK (co-producer of Park Chan-wook's "Thirst").

The Puchon Choice Short jury is comprised this year of Korean producer Hanna Lee ("Secret Sunshine"), emerging actor-director Yang Ik-june ("Breathless") and Todd Brown, founding member and editor of US-based online film magazine Twitch.

The NETPAC jury will consist of Hong Kong film and media curator Teresa KWONG, Chosun Ilbo film critic LEE Dong Jin, and film lecturer and int'l fest programmer Sozo TERUOKA. The Fujifilm Eterna Award will be determined by three prominent Korean film critics and writers, HUH Ji Woong, JUNG Ji Yeon, and LA Je Gi.

Nigel D'Sa (KOFIC)

Source :

Copy & paste guideline for this article
Always put a link back to the source and HanCinema permalink

Creative Commons License"PiFan Launches 2 New Awards"
by HanCinema is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work from this source

Attention You're reading the news with potential spoilers, make them spoiler free, dismiss



 Previous news
  • Screening at The Korea Society
    2009/07/09 (Source)
    The Korea Society's monthly Classic Movie Night series of films set during the period of Japanese occupation will continue next Thursday, July 16th, 2009 at 6:30 PM with this the oldest Korean talkie film by director Yang Ju-nam.

    "Hurrah! For Freedom"
    Director: Choi In-gyu
    Starring Jeon Chang-k,...

  • In the digital era, manhwa is discussed
    2009/07/08 (Source)
    'SICAF2009 International Digital Cartoon Conference' is held on the 3rd floor, Conference Center, Coex, Samsung-dong on 25th. The conference is hosted by the city of Seoul and the organizing committee of SICAF (Seoul International Cartoon & Animation Festival) and organized by the Seoul Animation Ce,...More

  • Kang Full comes back with 'Realistic Fiction'
    2009/07/08 (Source)
    Horror cartoon 'Again' is scheduled to be serialized on Daum on 6tt "I will create a fiction true ,...More

About | Privacy policy | Contact | Deals | Partners

Mobile version