[riversky's Take] "I Have a Date With Spring" Nominated for Top Prize At International Film Festival Rotterdam 2018

Korean movie "I Have a Date with Spring" is among the eight films vying for the most prestigious award at the 47th International Film Festival Rotterdam (IFFR) currently taking place in The Netherlands (January 24 to February 4, 2018). The competition line-up (below) includes seven world premieres and one international premiere.


    "Djon África", João Miller Guerra/Filipa Reis, 2018, Portugal/Brazil, world premiere

    "I Have a Date with Spring", Baek Seung-bin, 2018, South Korea, world premiere

    "Sultry", Marina Meliande, 2018, Brazil, world premiere

    "Nervous Translation", Shireen Seno, 2018, Philippines, world premiere

    "Piercing", Nicolas Pesce, 2018, USA, international premiere

    "Possessed", Metahaven/Rob Schröder, 2018, Netherlands/Croatia, world premiere

    "The Reports on Sarah and Saleem", Muayad Alayan, 2018, Palestine/Netherlands/Germany/Mexico, world premiere

    "The Widowed Witch", Cai Chengjie, 2018, China, world premiere

In addition to international recognition, the Hivos Tiger Award includes a cash prize of €40,000, to be divided between filmmaker and producer. An international jury of five filmmakers and film professionals will also select an exceptional artistic achievement within the Tiger nominees to receive a Special Jury Award worth €10,000. Both will be presented at the Awards Ceremony on Friday, February 2, 2018.

"I Have a Date with Spring" is feature film directed and written by Baek Seung-bin. It is a mystery black comedy that tells about a filmmaker who struggles with a script revolving around the hypothetical question: what would you wish for on the last day before the end of the world?

The movie features Kim Sung-kyun ("The Sheriff In Town", 2017; "Scarlet Heart: Ryeo", 2016; "Answer Me 1994", 2015); Jang Young-nam ("Confidential Assignment", 2017, "The King Loves", 2017, "A Werewolf Boy", 2012); Kim Jong-soo ("1987: When the Day Comes", 2017; "Room No.7", 2017; "Ruler: Master of the Mask", 2017) and special participation by Kang Ha-neul ("Forgotten", 2017; "Midnight Runners", 2017; "DongJu, The Portrait of A Poet", 2015).  Produced by Milestone Company, the film is expected to be released in South Korea in the first half of 2018.

South Korea is no stranger to the Hivos Tiger Award as five Korean films have won in the past: "Han Gong-ju" by Lee Su-jin (2014), "The Journals of Musan" by Park Jung-bum (2011), "Breathless" by Yang Ik-june (2009), "Jealousy Is My Middle Name" by Park Chan-ok (2003) and "The Day a Pig Fell Into the Well" by Hong Sang-soo (1997).

Other Korean films featured in this year's 47th IFFR are "The Fortress" (directed by Hwang Dong-hyuk, starring Lee Byung-hun, Kim Yun-seok), "The Villainess" (directed by Jung Byung-gil, starring Kim Ok-vin, Shin Ha-kyun); "A Tiger in Winter" (director Lee Kwang-kuk, starring Lee Jin-wook).

For more information about the IFFR, please visit the official website.

By: riversky