My HanCinema | Sign up, Why ? Your E-mail   Password    Auto| Help
HanCinema :: The Korean Movie and Drama Database, discover the South Korean cinema and drama diversity Contact HanCinema HanCinema on TwitterFaceBook HanCinema PageHanCinema on Twitter
NewsLetter DailyWeekly

Seoul International Youth Film Festival's top prize goes to Bit by Bit

2011/07/20 | 467 views |  | Permalink | Source

Learn to read Korean in 90 minutes or less using visual associations


The 13th Seoul International Youth Film Festival (SIYFF) closed last week with the Grand Prize going to KIM Hye-bin for directing .
This year, the festival presented 140 films from 37 countries with accompanying programs such as Guest Visits, Cine Talk Talk, Midsummer Night's concerts and Reading Movie events. For instance, the popular Cine Talk Talk, directors such as Lee Joon-ik, Bang Eun-jin, and Shin Terra and actors such as Lim Sung-min, Myung Se-bin and Ji Dae-han watched films with audiences and discussed them afterwards.
Jury head Bae Chang-ho said about the Stimulating View 1 competition finalists, "They lack the creative sides as teenagers' works, but succeed in showing us universality captured in everyday life, thematic consciousness of their own, and entertaining aspects".
He also commented, "The finalists in Stimulating View 2 vary in terms of their scale; from a blockbuster to an episode piece.We the jury preferred simple and honest works rather than glamorous works. And, the final winners are the ones that portray the problems teenagers experience in reality from a warm point of view".
(See below for competition award-winners list.)
For the SIYFF Eyes Awards (Audience Awards), a film per section is selected from 5 invitation sections: Life, Above All by Oliver SCHMITZ in 'Beautiful Youth', A Thousand Time Stronger by Peter SCHILDT in 'Children of Heaven', Project Happiness by John C. Sorensen in 'It's OK to Be Different', Du-re Sori Story by Cho Jung-rae in 'Discovery of Korean Coming-of-Age Film', The Cursed by Huh Jung in 'Brilliant Moments' section.
SIYFF Eyes of Youth Award which is given to the "picture of the year' chosen by SIYFF Youth Audience Jury, went to by KIM Soo-rang from Stimulating View 1, and by KOH Soo-kyung from Stimulating View 2
The 13th SIYFF ended with a closing ceremony at Arirang Cine&Media Center on July 13.
Competition award-winners list
Stimulating View 1

- SIYFF Grand Prize
by KIM Hye-bin (Korea)
- Artistic Experiment Award
by YUEN Kwan-Tin (China)
- Challenging Reality Award
by KIM Soo-rang (Korea)
Stimulating View 2

- SIYFF Vision Award
by YOON Ga-eun (Korea)
- Jury's Special Award
by Julio Hern n CONTRERAS (Colombia)
- Jury's Special Mention
by Silvia GONZÁLEZ LAÁ (Spain).

Attention You're reading the news with potential spoilers, make them spoiler free, dismiss


Comment Policy

- Stay on topic and do not spam.
- Post only in English, as this is an English language community.
- Do not request or mention illegal download/streaming services.
- Do not post sexist, racist, homophobic or other hateful and discriminatory content.
- Refrain from abusive language.
- No graphic content allowed.
- Respect the right of other users to share their opinion. Arguments are welcome, fights are not.

Comments which break the rules will be moderated or erased. Repeated rule breaking will result in warnings followed by blacklisting upon non-compliance.

 Previous news

Subscribe to HanCinema Pure to remove ads from the website (not for episode and movie videos) for US$2.99 per month (you can cancel anytime).
The first step is to be a member, please click here : Sign up, then a subscribe button will show up.


Remove ads

Sign up




Visible, hide

By Cédric Collemine | Privacy policy | Contact | Partners

Mobile version